Board members

​ ​David Clayton-Smith, Chair

01 - David core orange navy  (2).jpg

David was previously the Chair of NHS Surrey, Chair of NHS Sussex, a non-executive director at Frimley Health NHS FT and most recently Chair of East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust. He is a member of the International Board of Fairtrade having been Chair of The Fairtrade Foundation in the UK. David is director and co-founder of Andrum Consulting which specialises in supporting entrepreneurial businesses​.

David is a strategy, change, branding and M&A specialist; an invaluable mentor for senior teams; and also a powerful non exec director in businesses large and small. With over 25 years' business experience, working at Board-level for blue-chip organisations including Courage, Do It All, Boots the Chemist and Halfords, David understands what it takes to take successful businesses of any size to the next level.

​ ​Tricia McGregor, Non-executive director

01 - Tricia core orange navy.jpg

Tricia is an experienced and well-networked Board level leader and clinician (speech/language therapist) in executive, non-executive/trustee and interim/consultancy roles. She has 30 years of extensive expertise in healthcare, children’s and adults' services, social enterprise and employee owned sectors. Tricia was awarded MBE in 2011 for services to social enterprise, establishing the country’s first employee owned healthcare ‘spin out’ company.

Tricia’s key strengths include innovation, influencing at national/political and local level, strategic thinking, staff engagement, organisational improvement, clinical leadership.​

​ ​Anna van der Gaag, Non-executive director

Anna is an experienced public service leader and Chair with recognised expertise in professional regulation, standard setting, clinical audit, quality assurance and service evaluation with a strong academic background. She has an interest in organisational growth and quality improvement in health and social care, and facilitating conversations that build trust and resolve conflict.

Anna is committed to promoting best practice through transformation, good governance, research and shared decision making and has a long track record of introducing innovation in public service. Anna was awarded CBE for services to health and care in 2015

Jane Ollis, Non-executive director

01 - Jane Ollis core orange navy.jpg

Jane is a Non-executive director at East Kent Hospitals University NHS FT
Jane has 25 years of diverse business experience from interning at NASA to sitting on and advising boards of global companies, charities and government bodies. She is an environmental scientist and biochemist by training with a particular interest in how science and technology can shape tomorrow’s world. She is also an alumni of Sydney's prestigious social leadership programme and a business fellow of Oxford University. Jane has an extensive background in helping ambitious people grow their business and brings connections, inspiration, know-how and first-hand experience of what is takes to be successful.

Guy Boersma, Managing director

01 - Guy orange.jpg

Guy has focused on improving public services from within the NHS, central government, private sector and professional services firms. He has worked across the NHS in Kent & Medway, Surrey and Sussex since 2010.​

Des Holden, Medical Director
01 - Des orange navy (2).jpg

Des Holden is Medical Director of KSS AHSN, having been with the organisation throughout its first licence. Des was a consultant and the medical director at Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust and then joined Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust (SASH) as Medical Director and member of the Board in 2011, a post he held until 2019 when the CQC awarded the trust an outstanding rating overall and in four of the six inspection domains.

Des is now Chief of Innovation at SASH and in addition to these two roles is a non- executive director of the Southeast Health Technology Alliance (SEHTA). He is an international advisor to Public Intelligence, the Danish organisation running citizen engagement and living lab co-design for new technologies. He is a visiting professor at the University of Surrey, in the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Science. Within the Kent, Surrey and Sussex Applied Research Collaborative bid to NIHR he has the role of implementation lead.

Peter Carpenter, Service Delivery Director
01 - Peter orange Navy  (4).jpg

Peter is responsible for delivery oversight of the portfolio of programmes for the AHSN, including the quality improvement and patient safety collaborative portfolios, as well as the programme activity to spread and adopt innovation into practice.  Peter is the senior engagement lead with Surrey Heartlands Partnership and Strategy Lead for the Academy.  Working closely with the Medical Director and leading the improvement team, delivery is built upon vibrant clinical networks who are keen to improve outcomes for patients and implementing innovation.   Peter is committed to the principles of change and improvement though partnership and collaborative working.  

Richard Lee-Wright, Director of Insight
Rich Core orange Navy.jpg

Richard has a Law Degree from Bristol UWE, post graduate certificate in Leadership and Service Improvement from the University of Manchester and a Masters in Health Informatics from UCL. Having worked previously in the private sector, Richard moved to the NHS in 2011, his experience largely centres on large scale commissioning and transformational change.

Richard's focus has always been around utilising analytics and improvement science to demonstrate impact and value. Having worked for NHS England, CCGs, HEE and now with the KSS AHSN, his motivation has been in quantifying large scale system change to evidence strategic decision-making utilising robust rapid evaluation techniques.

Richard oversees the delivery of all analytics, evaluation and intelligence activity for KSS AHSN and its associated programmes, as well as leading national metrics and return on investment activity.